News / Brèves
Back to previous selection / Retour à la sélection précédente

Seminar: The Humanitarian Crisis in Afghanistan — Toward a Long-term Solution

Printable version / Version imprimable

The Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC) and the Schiller Institute (SI) will be convening a seminar on Thursday, February 10, 2022 at 4 PM Moscow time/2 PM CET/8 AM EST on the topic, “The Humanitarian Crisis in Afghanistan: Toward a Long-term Solution.” Among the topics to be addressed by a panel of six speakers will be:

  • What are the causes of the Afghan humanitarian crisis?
  • What are the geopolitical implications of a failed state in Afghanistan?
  • What is needed to reverse the immediate threat of mass starvation and refugee problems?
  • A long-term solution to the humanitarian crisis: the role of the global powers.

Opening and closing statements will be presented by Dr. Andrey Kortunov, Director General of RIAC, and Helga Zepp-LaRouche, chairwoman of the SI.

Additional speakers will include:
Ivan Safranchuk, Director at the Center for Eurasian Studies of MGIMO University
Temur Umarov, Fellow at the Carnegie Moscow Center
Jim Jatras, U.S. diplomat, former advisor to U.S. Senate Republican leadership
Graham Fuller, 25 year career as a CIA operations officer, author

Questions may be submitted to questions@schillerinstitute.org